top of page
  • Writer's pictureCass Brooker

ANVAM March to Art: Narratives Exhibition Opening


On the 1st May, Melbourne's lord mayor, on behalf of ANVAM, formally opened the 'March to Art: Narratives' exhibition at the No Vacancy Gallery in the QV Building, Melbourne.

My painting 'ANZACs in the Landscape' was commissioned for this exhibition (see previous blog post). I was honoured to be able to attend this event with friends, family and other veteran artists.

ANZACs in the landscape’ depicts Australian and NZ personnel working closely on operations in Vietnam, in a style representative of techniques used in Vietnamese propaganda art to portray strength.


Stylised, indigenous symbology is linked to both the depicted terrain and associated warrior cultures to distinguish between the two nationalities, as well as reflecting my bi-cultural heritage and interconnectedness with the landscape.


Many of my military inspired artworks are in a bold style, incorporating provocative imagery and text using mixed media techniques, as well as expressing pride in both my service and that of my father.”


With obvious brushstrokes and rich textures, ‘ANZACs in the landscape’ emulates the ‘figures in the landscape’ subject matter, bold style and materiality of works by esteemed veteran artist Guy Warren.


As a current member of the Australian Army and a former member of the New Zealand Defence Force, I wanted to represent my ANZAC heritage. This influence also extends to family members on mum's side who served with the Australian Army during both World Wars, and from dad - a Vietnam Veteran with RNZIR – whose book and photographs from his war service inspire themes within my art to reflect my own military experiences.


I appreciate the opportunity to tell my story, to increase awareness of the role that art plays in healing and creating dialogue around the impacts of operational service and veterans’ wartime narratives.”



42 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page