top of page
  • Writer's pictureCass Brooker

Cranlana Ethical Leadership Roundtable Exhibition - 29th August 2022

Updated: Feb 25, 2023



Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership and Centre for Australian Army Leadership

The Military Philosophy Roundtable 29-31 August 2022


On Monday night of 29th August 2022, the work of four serving military artists was exhibited in the Duntroon Officers Mess as part of the pre-Ethical Leadership seminar's ‘Ice Breaker’, in order to explore identity and character in the contemporary ADF.


The work was de-identified as far as possible, and the artists were present but not identified within the audience. Participants were asked to look at the work and make some assumptions about who might have created it (understanding that they are ADF artists). The artists were then revealed and spoke about their work as it relates to identity and military character. The perceptions and assumptions of the group were taken into the seminar considerations the next day.

The artists were all members of the ADF Creative Arts Association.

I contributed three artworks to the exhibition:

  1. ANZACs in the Landscape, mixed media on canvas, 2019, kindly on loan from ANVAM;

  2. Seaweed Rockpool Collage, mixed media on canvas, 2015, kindly on loan from a private collector; and

  3. Birds on the Beach, acrylic on paper, 2011, kindly on loan from a private collector.

Here is an extract from my explanation to the group about my art practice:

My artistic narrative involves pieces that highlight my connection with place, the landscape, the terrain, and the environments where I feel most at home, as well as more recently reflecting on environmental concerns.

I was introduced to Charles Perkins’ “Everywhen” concept a couple of years ago relating to the past living inside us. We reflected on a significant place in our past and the associated memories, and then we considered words to describe what that place evokes for us now in the present, and then we meditated on how that place, those significant words, and memories might be significant to our future, for drawing strength, and be used to improve and develop our future selves.

I have always felt an affinity with the landscape and natural environment. I grew up exploring NZ’s native bush, off the beaten track, and often feel a strong urge to go “forest bathing” to de-stress and reconnect with my roots. Similarly, I love the diverse landscapes, flora and fauna of Australia, with its rich colour palette, textures, and ancient formations.

Scientists and artists have often talked about humans’ evolutionary interconnectedness with the natural world and the interactions between the geo and bio-spheres. As a self-confessed “map addict”, I am interested in landscape ecology, patterns in nature, interlinking ecosystems, and the interconnectedness of the landscape – where contours could become geological formations, then swirling water, perhaps now tree bark, a paua shell, or a fingerprint.

Since joining the ADF, I have learnt the importance of understanding the terrain and being able to blend into the geography of the battlespace.

But even before I joined the military, my Dad – a Vietnam Veteran – taught me bushcraft, camouflage, scouting, and reconnaissance techniques as well as fishing, hunting, navigation, survival skills, and other outdoor pursuits. I was also a Girl Guide and Ranger, which supplemented the bush knowledge imparted by my father and enhanced my leadership skills, decision making, and resilience – especially as a number of my Queens Guide tramps that I led turned into survival challenges!

Specifically, the painting: ‘ANZACs in the landscape’ speaks to my military identity. This painting depicts Australian and NZ personnel working closely on operations in Vietnam, in a style representative of techniques used in Vietnamese propaganda art to portray strength. Stylised, indigenous symbology is linked to both the depicted terrain and associated warrior cultures to distinguish between the two nationalities, as well as reflecting my bi-cultural heritage - having served in both the RNZAF and Australian Army, and interconnectedness with the landscape. By way of explanation, the Aboriginal symbology is actually a map of what the Australian soldier will encounter to his front.

Both Maori and Aboriginal cultures link their ancestors’ spirits to their country, watching over them and protecting them. This is why the “everywhen” concept resonated with me, as my everywhen place is a certain spiritual location where I feel closer to my dad, who passed away just after I graduated Duntroon.




43 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page